Contact Us :

Murray Community School District

216 Sherman Street, Murray, IA 50174

Phone: (641) 447-2517

Fax: (641) 447-2313

Superintendent - Ken Kasper, kkasper@murraycsd.org

Murray Board of Education

Ken Kasper–Superintendent

Staci Heaberlin-Board President

John Siefkas–Vice President

Jennifer Danley–Board Secretary

Sarah Dinham

Tara Page

Sherri Chew

Public Comments and Concerns for the School Board

If you would like to speak at a school board meeting, or have a concern you would like addressed, please refer to the documents below

Public Comment Guidelines

Speakers Form

Concern Procedures

Code No. 507.9


The Murray Community School District Board of Education is committed to the optimal development of every student. The board believes for students to have the opportunity to achieve personal, academic, developmental, and social success, there needs to be a positive, safe, and health-promoting learning environment at every level, in every setting.

The school district provides a comprehensive learning environment for developing and practicing lifelong wellness behaviors. The entire school environment, not just the classroom, shall be aligned with healthy school district goals to positively influence a student's understanding, beliefs and habits as they relate to good nutrition and regular physical activity. In accordance with law and this belief, the board commits to the following:

The school district will identify at least one goal in each of the following areas:

  • Nutrition Education and Promotion: Schools will provide nutrition education and engage in nutrition promotion that helps students develop lifelong healthy eating behaviors.

  • Physical Activity: Schools will provide students with age and grade appropriate opportunities to engage in physical activity that meet the Iowa Healthy Kids Act.

  • Other School Based Activities that Promote Wellness: As appropriate, schools will support students, staff, and parents’ efforts to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

The following nutritional guidelines for food available on school campuses will be adhered to:

  • Meals served through the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Program will be appealing and meet, at a minimum, nutrition requirements established by state and federal law;

  • Schools providing access to healthy foods outside the reimbursable meal programs before school, during school and thirty minutes after school shall meet the United States Department of Agriculture (“USDA”) Smart Snacks in Schools nutrition standards, at a minimum. This includes such items as those sold through a la carte lines, vending machines, student run stores, and fundraising activities;

  • Snacks provided to students during the school day without charge (e.g., class parties) will meet standards set by the district in accordance law. The district will provide parents a list of foods and beverages that meet nutrition standards for classroom snacks and celebrations; and

  • Schools will only allow marketing and advertising of foods and beverages that meet the Smart Snacks in school nutritional standards on campus during the school day.

The superintendent or superintendent’s designee shall implement and ensure compliance with the policy by:

  • Reviewing the policy at least every three years and recommending updates as appropriate for board approval;

  • Implementing a process for permitting parents, students, representatives of the school food authority, teachers of physical education, school health professionals, the school board, administrators and the public to participate in the development, implementation, and periodic review and update of the policy;

  • Making the policy and updated assessment of the implementation available to the public (e.g., posting on the website, newsletters, etc). This information shall include the extent to which the schools are in compliance with policy and a description of the progress being made in attaining the goals of the policy; and

  • Developing administrative regulations, which shall include specific wellness goals and indicators for measurement of progress consistent with law and district policy.

Legal Reference: 42 U.S.C. §§ 1751 et seq.

42 U.S.C. §§ 1771 et seq.

Iowa Code §§ 256.7(29); 256.11(6).

281 I.A.C. 12.5; 58.11.

Cross Reference: 504.5 Student Fund Raising

504.6 Student Activity Program

710 School Food Services

Date of Adoption: April 20, 2007

Date of Review: February 13, 2012

Date of Revision: July 18, 2011/March 15, 2012/January 21, 2016/October 20, 2016